Download Article Download Article

Wondering if you’re locked out of someone’s story? Is it possible somebody get banned? The Snapchat lock logo may have you scratching your head, but don’t fret; we’ve got you covered! In this article, we’ll break down what the lock means, how it got there, and how you can put a lock on your own stories. Read on to learn everything you need to know about “locking it down” on Snapchat.

Section 1 of 4:
Why does the lock appear on Snapchat stories?

  1. The lock appears on Snapchat stories that are private. Typically, Snapchat stories are public for anyone on your friends list to see. However, you can create custom Snapchat stories for specific audiences. But how do you know if a story is custom? It has a lock on it!
    • When a story is private, unapproved friends won’t see a story in their feed.
    • The lock only appears on stories. Regular snaps are sent individually, so you’ll only see a normal snap if it was meant for you in the first place.
    • The lock will be purple if you haven’t watched a private story yet, or gray if you’ve viewed it. It’s also gray in your profile if you want to make your own custom story.
    • If you’re brand new to Snapchat, a story refers to snaps that you post for people to open at their leisure. Unlike normal snaps, which you send individually, a story won’t pop up in someone’s inbox.
  2. Advertisement

Section 3 of 4:
Why would someone make a Snapchat story private?

  1. 1
    People make private stories because it’s faster than sending snaps. If you know that you want to send a single snap to a large number of people, crafting a private story is a tad bit faster than shooting a regular snap and sending it out to a bunch of people individually. Sending the individual snaps isn’t a massive time sink, but making a private story is just a lot more streamlined.[2]
    • You can select who views your story from an alphabetized contact list. In contrast, when you send a normal snap, your friends list is sorted based on streaks (how often you send them snaps), which can be kind of clunky to sift through.
  2. 2
    A user might make a story private to keep certain people from seeing it. Private stories are a great way to invite specific people to a party or share personal news without letting everyone see it. If you’re only trying to share something with a specific group of people (like close friends, coworkers, or family members), a private story will prevent folks you only talk to occasionally from seeing it.
    • If you accept random friend requests, making a story private is a good idea if you’re revealing any personal info on the app. It’s better to be safe than sorry!
    • You may also want to hide a story if you’re doing something in a snap that certain people may not approve of. If you’ve got a sibling who hates people who drink, you may want to block them from seeing footage of you at a party, for example.
  3. Advertisement

Section 4 of 4:
How do you make a Snapchat story private?

  1. 1
    Tap your profile icon in the Snapchat app. Open the Snapchat app and log in, if necessary. Then, press the profile icon in the top left of your screen to open your home screen.[3]
    • You can also get to this screen by pressing your bitmoji or the story thumbnail when you open the app.
  2. 2
    Press "+ Private Story" and select the friends you want to see it. The "+ Private Story" button is in grey, just above the "Add to My Story" thumbnail in the middle of the screen. Tap that button. Now, tap on every user in your friends list who you’d like to see your story.
    • This is a key difference between posting a private story and sending individual snaps. When you send a normal snap, you select who to send it to after you shoot the video or take a photo.
  3. 3
    Create your Snapchat story and hit the send button. Shoot your video or take your photo. Add whatever widgets or filters you’d like and press the send button (it’s that little paper airplane in the bottom left). Your story will now appear—with the lock symbol on it—in the feed of anyone approved to view it!
  4. Advertisement

Community Q&A

Ask a Question
200 characters left
Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered.
Submit
      Advertisement

      Tips

      Submit a Tip
      All tip submissions are carefully reviewed before being published
      Thanks for submitting a tip for review!

      About This Article

      Co-authored by:
      wikiHow Staff Writer
      This article was co-authored by wikiHow staff writer, Eric McClure. Eric McClure is an editing fellow at wikiHow where he has been editing, researching, and creating content since 2019. A former educator and poet, his work has appeared in Carcinogenic Poetry, Shot Glass Journal, Prairie Margins, and The Rusty Nail. His digital chapbook, The Internet, was also published in TL;DR Magazine. He was the winner of the Paul Carroll award for outstanding achievement in creative writing in 2014, and he was a featured reader at the Poetry Foundation’s Open Door Reading Series in 2015. Eric holds a BA in English from the University of Illinois at Chicago, and an MEd in secondary education from DePaul University. This article has been viewed 2,901 times.
      How helpful is this?
      Co-authors: 3
      Updated: May 15, 2022
      Views: 2,901
      Categories: Social Media
      Thanks to all authors for creating a page that has been read 2,901 times.

      Is this article up to date?

      Advertisement